Twelfth Night Costumes

So last semester, as I mentioned in my first post, I was the costume designer for my high school’s production of “Twelfth Night.” For the play, I made six new pieces, modified a couple, and fit the rest of the costumes for the whole fifteen-ish person cast (I forget the actual number … gah). In total, I put in around fifty hours of work to the play.

So, here are some pictures of the costumes (with the faces cut out for privacy) and a quick description of what I did.

The first sewing weekend, I made a black corset for Olivia’s mourning costume for her parts in Act I. I don’t have any pictures of her in it right now, but I’m asking around. If I can’t find anything, I’ll post a picture of me in it on the post for just the corset. Also, my next post is all about the corset.

After the corset, things went pretty quickly. In one sixteen-hours-of-sewing weekend, I made a white shirt for Olivia (Butterick 6196), two matching pairs of pants for the twins (Butterick 3072), and two blue tunic/cape/things that have a beautiful name I can’t remember (ugh – google is failing me).

The tunics were self-drafted, but they were really just rectangles and semi-circles so that’s not saying much. Even so, it was cool. I’ve only gone so far as adjusting or merging commercial patterns in the past. They are fully-lined, embellished with trim, and weighted to hang right. I’m really happy with how the turned out and what they looked like on stage. Speaking of which, here are the best pictures I could find of the twins costumes:

I made the tunics and the pants. It's hard to see, but the back panel of the tunic is actually a fully-lined cape.
I made the tunics and the pants. It’s hard to see, but the back panel of the tunic is actually a fully-lined cape.
okay, so the picture is really blurry because I took it with my phone, but it gives you an idea of what the cape looked like
okay, so the picture is really blurry because I took it with my phone, but it gives you an idea of what the cape looked like

Oh, and because everyone in the drama department is so freaking tall (seriously, I’m not joking) I had to add seven inches to the pants to get the length right.

What else? Hmm … I did the whole project in $150. I went to LA’s fabric district for the first time for the blue velvet for the capes. I used a rotary cutter for the first time (hi, Grammy…). I figured out exactly how many bags of costumes will fit into my smaller-than-a-breadbox locker (about three). Yeah. That’s about it.

Finally, I’d just like to say how freaking amazing the performance was and how little credit I can take. Every member of that cast is insanely talented and, with the director’s help, they put together what will probably by my favorite performance of Shakespeare ever. Seriously, it was that good.


What do you think?

