What’s in the Sketchbook – Volume 1 Issue 2

Welcome to the second issue of What’s in the Sketchbook. (And it’s a really good one.)

Since the last installment, I’ve done lots of sketching on a project I’ve dubbed The Coat. I’ll be posting a more complete description of it later, but for now I’ll say this: I have an idea for an awesome coat that just keeps getting more and more complicated. First it was fantasy, then steampunk, then dieselpunk, now back to steampunk… yeah, I’m hopelessly confused about it. But I have lots of pretty sketches.

If you’ve looked at the first issue then you’ll realize that the sketches look a bit different this time. And some of them even have color. I owe this awesomeness to my twin sister (see her at 52 Letters in the Alphabet) who is a graphics art master. She not only let me borrow her drawing tablet, she also taught me how to use it. So now my sketches are all fancy.

Without further ado, sketches of The Coat

The sketches will make more sense with the next post, but I wanted to give you guys a glimpse of what’s to come.

Next, we have colorized versions of sketches from Issue 1 courtesy of my awesome twin. Seriously, give this girl an award.

I really love the colors she chose for this. It’s almost dragon-y. Or maybe that’s just me….

This has to be my favorite thing ever. It’s like Aurora re-imagined, right?

I think we can all agree that my sister is the best person ever. Check her out at her blog where she reviews books and posts awesome drawings. Gotta love her.

–Samantha


What do you think?

