What’s in the Fabric Stash? – Volume 1 Issue 1

It’s not the Sketchbook, but that’s looking a little neglected right now. So I thought I’d share with you some of the new highlights from my fabric stash, which has never been neglected in its life.

Are there any fabric stashes that are neglected? I’m not sure they exist….

Anyway, mine was already bursting at its seams from my trip to the LA fabric district, but then my awesome grandmother and her awesome friends fed the little monster even more. Most of the fabrics are Indonesian prints in all sorts of lovely colors.

There are also two beautiful pieces of embroidery, one long and rectangular, and one circular. Β I couldn’t get a good picture of the whole rectangular one, but it measures about 4″ by 24″.

There’s only a small amount of each of the brighter prints, so I’m planning on making smaller projects out of them (pencil cases and the like), but I have absolutely no idea what to do with the embroidery. It’s absolutely beautiful and is begging to be on a costume, but the blue it’s on is … bright. Way brighter than my usual color pallet, at least. I do have a yard or two more of the fabric, though, so I could (in theory) make something out of it.

What do you think? Any ideas?

–Samantha


What do you think?

