What’s in the Sketchbook – Volume 1 Issue 4

I’ve been spending a lot of time this week working on my sketches for my next project. Because I’m almost done with Red Riding Hood, I’m itching to start something new.

Drumroll please….

jasmine cosplay infographic(I made it a fancy infographic.)

I really love the Disney princess dresses. A few weeks ago, I posted my reinterpretation of Sleeping Beauty’s blue dress. This costume is another reinterpretation, but it stays much closer to the original.


For some inexplicable reason, I’ve always associated Jasmine with the warrior aspects of Mulan. In a way, this is a mash-up of Jasmine’s costume and Mulan’s story.

I wanted some pretense of historical accuracy, so I researched ancient Chinese armor. I focused on Ancient China because it’s more widely researched than Ancient Arabia and their armor is more distinctive. I came up with this series of images.

Ancient Chinese warrior armor (National Geographic Museum)
terracotta warriors, China
Ancient Chinese “Mountain” Armor (metal recreation)
Ancient Chinese “Mountain” Armor (paper recreation)
Ancient Chinese "Mountain" armor (leather recreation)
Ancient Chinese “Mountain” armor (leather recreation)

I instantly fell in love with the mountain armor but it wasn’t until I saw the leather recreation that I visualized it in fabric.

I already knew I wanted to stay mostly true to Jasmine’s Disney outfit, only lengthening the bodice a bit. I also knew that I wanted the bodice to be architectural and structured, to juxtapose with the flowy pants.

By the time I saw the mountain armor, I had already purchased all my fabric for the costume, including a pin-tucked blue fabric for the bodice.

blue fabric jasmine bodice

 

I swear it’s actually blue. Well, it’s more of a teal color–at least until the light hits it. As you can see, it’s very reflective.

Anyway, I bought the fabric specifically for it’s architectural look. After a quick consultation with my sister, I decided to leave the front of the bodice simple (just the fabric) and cover the back with the mountain armor, made of the same fabric.

my sketch for the back of the bodice
my sketch for the back of the bodice

The “sleeves” at the side will be made out of a super light silk.

blue silk

The pants be made of this fabric.

(the color is a little off in this picture by the way)
(the color is a little off in this picture by the way)

And the whole costume will have gold accents to tie it together.

gold accent fabric jasmine

I’m really excited for this project. Unfortunately, I’m out of town next week, so I won’t be able to start it for a while. I’m also waiting for boning I ordered to arrive.

What do you think?

–Samantha

 


2 thoughts on “What’s in the Sketchbook – Volume 1 Issue 4

  1. It’s a WOW! I’m just glad you’re doing it instead of me. I’ll stick to my neonatal quilts. BTW, I’ve started on the second hundred. OH, perhaps we aren’t so far apart.
    Grammy

    Like

What do you think?

