Jasmine is Coming Together

Today saw some serious progress on Jasmine. I have to say, it’s really coming together.

As my grandfather kindly pointed out today, the color in a lot of my pictures of these projects is a bit off. The fabric is really iridescent, so in my house it reflects yellow light and looks green. Outside, it’s bluer. I’m not really sure which color is more accurate. The pictures in today’s post are lit with natural light, so they’re bluer.

the bodice back, in natural lighting (see how blue it is?)
the bodice back, in natural lighting (see how blue it is?)

Things I did today:

  1. added boning to the lining
  2. sewed the lining to the main fabric at the top edge
  3. painstakingly pressed the fabric so that the white lining doesn’t show
  4. under-stitched the seam allowance to the lining.
  5. painstakingly pinned the lining and the fabric together so that they lie flat
  6. basted along the bottom edge

Why did I baste the bottom edge instead of turning it? Because I’d already under-stitched the top seam and it wouldn’t lie right the other way. And I’m going to cover the bottom edge in a gold accent, so it doesn’t really need to be turned.

the bodice with test gold accents and "sleeves"
the bodice with test gold accents and “sleeves”

As you can see in the above picture, I’m planning on sticking with the traditional sleeves. This picture was mostly just to test the colors together, but it gives a good idea of what the bodice will look like once it’s complete.

The gold accents will be carried through the pants as well, to tie the whole outfit together. Right now, I’m working on gathering accessories to complete the warrioress look and trying to figure out how I want to do the pants.


 

I’m really hoping to finish Jasmine by the end of next week (and hopefully photograph both it and Red Riding Hood) because it’s basically my last week to sew before school starts again. (Please don’t make me think about that, okay?) It’s probably not going to happen, but a girl can dream.

What do you think?

–Samantha

 


What do you think?

