Jasmine Pants – take 2 – and a glimpse of my process

My first attempt at the pants for my Jasmine costume revealed some problems with my original ideas. The color of the fabric I originally bought is too dark — so I need new fabric. The architectural bodice and flow-y harem pants clash and throws off the aesthetic I’m going for — so the pants need to be more structured.

The fabric problem is, well, problematic. I only have about a fat quarter of the main bodice fabric left and less than a yard of the sheer blue fabric from the sleeves. I have another yard of the gold fabric, but I’m not exactly eager to wear gold pants with my pale skin tone. Unfortunately, I’m not sure where I’m going to find a fabric that goes well with the bodice, since it’s so iridescent. Not sure when I’m going to have the time to buy more fabric, but that’s a whole different problem.

As for the structure of the pants, I actually have some ideas. I was browsing Pinterest when I came across this pair of pants.

First of all, I love these pants. I wish they weren’t $300 and that I could pull them off.

In the context of Jasmine, however, I’m in love with the detailing around the thighs (shown below).

close up of the details

From these pictures, ideas started forming. Here’s my list, copied over from my notebook so it’s a bit haphazard, but I wanted to give you guys an idea of my thought process.

  • capri length instead of long
  • fitted (skinny jeans)
  • heavier fabric (light fabric interfaced, if necessary)
  • matte fabric over shiny? –> would clash with bodice? –> better be shiny
  • thigh detailing out of bodice fabric (fabrics have to match really well)
  • knee pads or no knee pads? –> adds to armor feel, but a bit ridiculous – would clash with capri length? –> see after pants are done
  • cuff at bottom hem (<1″)  –> maybe thicker?
  • 1″-1.5″ waistband
  • low-waisted
  • fly zipper (not side zipper)
  • gold detailing at sides and around detailing — 1/8″ strip at (almost) every seam (ties in to bodice)
    • super thin (1/8″)
    • not like a tuxedo stripe (ew)

So that’s my list. As you can see, there are still a few things I’m unsure of. Basically all of my projects have details like this, where I leave them up in the air until I can see what they look like on the actual thing. My imagination is good, but it’s a bit idealistic.

Here’s my sketch and a bit of the list.

jasmine pants sketch

So basically, my process starts with an idea and usually a half-formed sketch. Then I go to Pinterest and find inspiration from what other people have done. Sometimes there’s a new sketch at this point, sometimes I just add details. Then there is more list making and lots of arrows and stars. If it gets really messy, I’ll recopy all the final stuff into a new page. And it’s all in my semi-legible cursive.

What’s your creative process like?

–Samantha


What do you think?

