A Self-Reflection on this Summer

Ten weeks ago, I gave myself a goal: sew this summer, and keep sewing. Sew as much as possible, as often as possible. Sew something amazing. Sew something to be proud of.

I didn’t get as much done as I wanted to, but I don’t think that was ever actually possible. I’m the kind of person who always sets the bar a little higher than I should, and, when it comes to sewing, I set the bar a lot higher than I ever have a chance of reaching. I never photographed my Little Red Riding Hood cloak with its wolf counterpart. My Jasmine costume never got pants. Oops.

But I still turned 9 yards of fabric into a cloak. I used fake fur for the first (and second) time. I put in my first invisible zipper. I made 3 pairs of socially-acceptable shorts (post about the 3rd coming soon), 3 pencil cases, a dress I’m absolutely in love with, two unique cosmetics bags (#2), and I added pockets to my backpack.

I started an Etsy shop! I made over 70 individual tiles for my Jasmine costume, and sewed them into an actual bodice!

Most importantly, I proved to myself that I can stay motivated and keep up with sewing. And that I’m pretty darn good at it.

If a couple of years ago you told me that I would create my Jasmine costume, I’d have laughed you out of the room. Jasmine’s bodice was a test in creativity, both in the design and in the construction. Looking at it, I see a future version of myself, one that sews for a living. I’m not sure if that’s what I want, but now I know it’s possible.

So, all in all, I’m counting this summer as a success.

I still have a lot of work to do on my costumes, and a whole lot more designs I want to try, but I’m happy. I’m proud.

Thanks for sticking with me through this summer, or joining halfway through. You guys really mean a lot to me.

–Samantha 😀


What do you think?

