What’s in the Sketchbook – Volume 1 Issue 5

So far, my personal costuming has mostly focused on recreations of classic stories (Jasmine from Aladdin and Little Red Riding Hood), so I’m itching to create something original. An original costume at least, since my orange dress last week was original.

I made this sketch a while ago and am still in love with it, which I take as a good sign.

fire dress 2

I’m calling it the Queen of Fire, currently.

The flame designs will be created out of overlapping sheer fabrics, machine-appliqued on, gradually getting darker toward the edges. The bodice ends just below the natural waist and poofs into a traditional ballgown silhouette. My focus for this dress is the fabric manipulation, obviously, which is why I’m content with leaving the fairly traditional silhouette.

Part of me really wants to do the whole dress greyscale, with only the faintest hints of red at the tips of the flames. An equally-strong part of me wants the dress to be filled with bright colors — oranges, yellows, and reds — on a blue-grey background, like a real forest fire. If I ever do create this dress (pinkies crossed), I think the color side will win (at least in some form), if only because it’s more interesting and eye-catching.

I’d really like to make the flames look like they’re actually burning away the fabric underneath them. We’ll have to see how that goes.

As with all my Sketchbook posts, this dress may or may not become a reality. I’m hoping it will, but you never know. There are so many costumes I want to create and I have so little time. Grrr…. high school 😦

What do you think?

–Samantha?


What do you think?

