A New Technique – Smocking

Following #5 of my New Year’s Sewing Resolutions, I’m starting off 2015 by trying new sewing techniques, specifically smocking. I fell down a rabbit hole on Pinterest and ended up with a whole board of ideas to try.

My two favorites are a flower pattern and a honeycomb one.

the honeycomb pattern
the flower pattern

Without anything better to do, I went into my stash and pulled out a few yards of a sparkly green fabric I’ve been holding onto since my 10-year-old self decided she needed it. I’ve been meaning to stash bust (#2 of my new year’s resolutions) and I have a love-hate relationship with this fabric that made me willing to cut it apart for a random test of a new fabric manipulation technique.

I really went into it prepared for failure, or at least pain, but I was pleasantly surprised. Marking the grid on the fabric was tedious and took forever, but the actual smocking was really fun and relaxing.

wpid-20141230_115404.jpg
the honeycomb pattern in-progress
wpid-20150101_141728.jpg
the finished honeycomb practice piece

I really enjoy smocking. It’s nice hand-sewing practice and comes together rather quickly. And the finished product is just so engaging and fun to look at.

wpid-20150101_131320.jpg
whoops

I did have a weird hiccup when I managed to (somehow) snap the needle I was using in two. That was freaky.

wpid-20150101_141603.jpg
the flower pattern in-progress

The other neat thing is that the back of the design is really interesting too.

wpid-20150101_141615.jpg
the back of the flower pattern

I’m planning on making a few more samples of different designs. Before you ask, no, I don’t have any idea what I’m going to do with these pieces. I might try to piece them into a vaguely avant-garde dress or jacket but that seems doomed. Right now, I’m just enjoying the smocking.

Have you tried smocking? What do you think?

–Samantha


6 thoughts on “A New Technique – Smocking

  1. I have never tried smocking as i find 8t a little intimidating but im tempted to try. I have baby number 5 due in may so I feel its te perfect time to attempt a few dresses with a smocked bodice 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

