Red Riding Hood in Death Valley

During the summer of 2014, I made my Red Riding Hood Cloak. I’ve taken pictures of it a bunch of times (see above link), but I decided, what the hell, I could use more, right? So I took the cloak with me on my recent trip to Death Valley National Park.

I go to Death Valley pretty much every year, sometimes twice a year, and it’s a place I really, really love. Bringing the cloak with me and photographing it was a neat and slightly surreal experience.

My twin sister, my grandfather, and I took these pictures. Either my sister or I am wearing the cloak in them.

red - DV

These first pictures were taken in the abandoned town of Rhyolite.

03-DSC_9748

The following pictures were taken in Titus Canyon.

04-DSCN3152

07-DSCN3171

08-DSCN2092

On our way out of the valley, we stopped for some more pics (I think on a dried up lake?)

And, finally, we took some action shots with some Joshua Trees.

26-DSCN4841

23-DSCN4887

What I really love about these pictures is that the cloak goes from a weird interpretation of Red Riding Hood, to maybe a sorceress, or a traveler in a fantasy novel. It’s versatile (and now I’m itching to make stuff to go under it…).

–Samantha


One thought on “Red Riding Hood in Death Valley

What do you think?

