Gertie’s Giveaway Dress – Part One

I’ve been on the Butterick email list for-what-seems-like-ever and it gave me a really nice surprise Tuesday morning. In conjunction with Gertie (of the Blog for Better Sewing), Butterick is hosting a sewing contest with pretty awesome prizes, a deadline I can meet, and no age requirement. Hurray!

It’s basically like the stars aligned.

Star One: The contest is to sew one of Gertie’s Butterick patterns. The best part about this is that I’ve been wanting to sew 6094 for a while and had just never gotten around to it.

Star Two: I’ve been wanting to make a dress out of this fabric forever but couldn’t justify just making another dress (even though that’s what I’ve been wanting to do). I don’t really wear dresses that often, so I actually get more satisfaction out of making random costume pieces that I don’t have any reason to wear and therefore can’t be bummed about not wearing than pieces I should wear but don’t. It’s weird, but now that I have a reason to make a dress out of this awesome fabric, it’s a problem that I can ignore.

plaid

Star Three: Even though the semester just started, my work load is still fairly light—light enough that I’ll be able to get the dress done before the January 31 deadline, and probably still do a decent job on it.

Star Four: It’s new years resolutions time and I’m back from break with a motivated attitude that will probably last one month. (See January 31 deadline)

2015
no but seriously

Star Five: I was planning on manipulating the plaid, kinda like I did with my striped dress, and I had basically all my ideas planned out and was ready to sketch them when I found it on Pinterest.

gertie dress plaid

I don’t think I’m going to do the pleated skirt (mostly because I don’t have enough fabric), but I am going to cut the waistband on the bias and do contrast piping around its edges.

Star Six: I had time on Wednesday to go to Joann Fabrics and buy the contrast fabric and the notions I needed. I just bought some muslin from Mood Fabrics, so that will be the lining. I probably should have used a lining fabric, but the muslin is the right color and weight and it’s in my stash already. I’ve started cutting out and sewing, which I’ll post about soon.

wpid-20150107_165540.jpg

And all those stars are in a nice neat line. It’s poetic, really.

I’m really excited about this project. It’s going well so far. While I would be amazed if I even placed in the contest, I still want to do it, just to do it. Frankly, I’ve been looking for something to enter sewing-wise, and this is the first one I’ve come across that I’m eligible for (I haven’t been looking that hard). It’s not that I want to win, I just want to try and see. I’ve kinda been adopting that attitude in all of my life, and it’s been going well.

Thanks for reading 🙂

–Samantha


4 thoughts on “Gertie’s Giveaway Dress – Part One

What do you think?

