The Dress is Black and Blue

… yes the dress is blue and black too (*frantic whisper* they found the dress. it’s BLUE AND BLACK)…

But more importantly, my dress is black and blue. Okay, it’s a really dark navy and blue but let’s just pretend it’s black, okay?

blue sparkly dress

I made this dress back in … September? October? I don’t quite remember. I wore it to Homecoming and had an awesome time.

I think one of my favorite things about this dress is that it looks like a homecoming dress. I know that’s a weird category to be proud to fit into (I mean, have you seen some of the monstrosities that call themselves homecoming/prom dresses?), but I wanted a semi-stereotypical homecoming dress.

I’ve always had some self-consciousness when wearing dresses I’ve made to things like dances, just because I feel like you can tell it’s different. I feel like I tend to make whatever dress I want, rather than the one most appropriate for the situation. But this one looks like something you would buy in a store. And it looks like something I would make.

And that makes me ridiculously happy and proud.

I think the sparkliness of the skirt is a big part. I had had this fabric in my stash for years, thinking oh my god I will never wear that, before pulling it out for this dress. It’s not something the current me would pick out, but it really worked for this dress for me, knowing that I was going to be wearing it to a dance with a dimly-lit dance floor and roaming colorful lights that would (and did) make it light up.

Plus, sparkles are fun.

blue sparkly dress

Both fabrics were from my stash. The top is a dark navy faux velvet from the LA garment district and the bottom is a sparkly dance polyester excuse for fabric. Honestly, it was terrible to sew—but isn’t it pretty?

It’s also totally see-through, so the skirt is lined in black. You can’t really see it in these pictures, but when light shines through the skirt you get this cool transparent look where the skirt is longer than the lining.

DSCN5062 edti

I’m actually really proud of the construction on this dress. The bodice is completely boned and I added a ribbon at the ribcage to kinda cinch it tighter. It ended up really helping keep the dress stay up. (Though, admittedly, on homecoming night I had it pinned to my bra straps so that it wouldn’t fall. They matched the dress, btw.)

I just really love wearing this dress. It’s so sparkly and fun. And it’s my first ever high-school dance dress.

blue sparkly dress

Gah. I’m so pale. Sorry, just had to get that out in the open. I really tried to get these pictures to look nice but … I’m so pale. I don’t even know how it’s possible in SoCal, but it is.

blue sparkly dress

I was thinking of selling this dress on Etsy, but then I realized that I cannot part with my first-ever high school dance dress. I just can’t. I love it too much 🙂

blue sparkly dress

I hope you’re all having a great weekend 🙂 What do you think of my homecoming dress?

–Samantha 🙂


What do you think?

