Lots of Dots Skirt

Hi guys!

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted but I’m back now. Sorry for the quiet 🙂

I’m on Spring Break this week and have been sewing pretty much constantly. It feels amazing and I’ll have a lot of posts for you in the next few days. Exciting things are happening at Strings Attached HQ 🙂


lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

I found this awesome tiny polka dot print fabric at Joann Fabrics in the red tag section and promptly bought 1 1/2 yards to make a skirt. I love everything about it, from it’s faux-denim look to the polka dots. I fell in love with it instantly.

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached
the fabric (with scissors for size reference)

I also knew that I was going to be in need of a simple “me project” this week and that a simple pleated skirt would be the perfect thing. I’m also trying to expand my skirt wardrobe, so it’s basically perfect all-around.

Since I’ve done a lot of pleats recently, I decided to try something a little different: box pleats. I feel like box pleats make this skirt look a bit more classy than it naturally would be. Maybe that’s just from how much time I’ve spent on Pinterest (where box pleated skirts are very much in). 

Sewing

I free-handed the pleats, knowing that I was never going to take the time to actually mark out them perfectly. Ugh—just the thought of that makes me cringe. So they’re … artistically uneven at some points.

The actual sewing felt like a comedy of errors, though I really like how it turned out. I sewed and resewed the waistband seam about three times and then had to re-iron it again and again and again. I got a nasty papercut on my right index finger right as I got to the waistband, so the hand-sewing took forever.

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

It looks okay. I cut the waistband too thin, which is why the stitching lines show. This is what happens when you free-hand a pattern … even when it is literally two pieces of fabric. In that same vein, the seam where I pieced the two main pieces of fabric together is halfway around the skirt. AKA: the center front.

Bleh.

And oh my god those hook and eyes were terrible.

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

I spent 45 minutes on the exposed zipper and back seam. I really don’t know what was going on with my sewing brain, but it was clearly on vacation.

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

All sewing problems aside, I really love this skirt. Basically everything about it. I’ve worn it a few times since I finished it and it makes me feel all … cute and nice.

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

wpid-20150316_115841.jpg

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

Have you made any skirts recently? What do you think of mine?

Thanks for reading,

–Samantha 🙂


12 thoughts on “Lots of Dots Skirt

What do you think?

