Starry Night Dress – Part 1

Hello! Happy Thursday!

This dress was inspired by a galaxy print panel I bought a few months ago and a pattern I’ve been wanting to sew for a while. I’m going for a slightly Mod-Cloth-Think-Geek vibe with this project, and I feel like the fabrics are totally working toward that.

But, I’m conflicted over this dress. I love a lot of it, but I’m hating the pattern.

I bought the galaxy fabric from Mood Fabrics. It’s out of stock right now, but the picture links to the listing. It’s a poly chiffon, so terrible to sew but flowy and sheer.

galaxy print

The one thing I don’t like about the fabricΒ is that the main “galaxy” wasn’t in the center of the panel. It worked out better for me because I got almost two prints of the galaxy and lots of black starry sky in between. If I was going to drape the fabric or planning on using the galaxy as a centerpiece, though, it would have been a problem.

I used view A of Butterick 6090.

B6090

I’ve written about it before as a to-be-sewn kinda thing, but this was my first time attempting the pattern.

And the last.

I hate this pattern. This pattern SUCKS.

The neckline piece with the faux collar gets sewn to the back neckline and shoulder seam, except the neckline is a concave rectangle and the back shoulder seam is basically a convex curve. Those pieces don’t mix.

Starry Night Dress | Strings Attached

Even in a less chiffon-y fabric, I wouldn’t have been able to get that seam to work. I BS-ed it and it looks terrible. Look at that bulge.

Starry Night Dress | Strings Attached

Bleh.

So, at this point I was pretty annoyed and feeling a little disillusioned about the whole thing. I tried it on my dressform and felt … conflicted again.

I love the back. I like the shape of the neckline of the black pieces.

I do not like the gathers. And the shoulder seam sits way too far back so that it bunches weirdly. I don’t like how the neckline looks sitting up or folded down into a “collar” like it is in the picture above.

So, basically, bleh.

From here, I started brainstorming. I have the skirt all cut out of the black and pleated, and I like how it’s going, so I think I’m going to work on that next to clear my head and give me a better idea of what it’s going to look like at the end.

I have some ideas about how to fix it. I know I’m going to take apart both the shoulder seam and the front neckline seams.

Currently, I’m trying to decide between two different alternate ideas:

The first involves pleats and a similar neckline.

Starry Night Dress | Strings Attached

Basically, this version replaces the gathers with pleats (to match the aesthetic of the skirt) and leaves most of the rest the same. I’m going to have to cut the neckline piece and redo the shoulder seam anyway, so leaving so much the same is kinda meh with me.

Here’s version #2:

Starry Night Dress | Strings Attached

This one changes a lot, but I like it a lot more too. I would have to draft a new upper bodice piece for this, and a Peter-Pan collar piece, but I think it’s doable. And I have enough of both fabrics left to recut the pieces.

I think this version fits the fabric a bit more. I feel like the galaxy print could be really sleek and sophisticated, but I’m taking it a bit more casually, more teenage, if you will, and I think the new collar helps with that. Like I said, I’m going for a Mod Cloth/Think Geek feeling.

There’s also something about the above-boobs gathers/pleats in the original pattern that isn’t working with me. I want to be happy with how this dress turns out, so I want to change the things that aren’t working.

So I’m going to try the new Peter-Pan collar variation. We’ll see how it goes. For now, what do you think of the bodice I have so far?

–Samantha πŸ™‚


4 thoughts on “Starry Night Dress – Part 1

  1. I really like the current bodice Samantha. That convex to concave shape is quite common in an extended neckline. Does you form match you in the shoulder to waist length? Could you somehow nip a horizontal line out of the upper bodice front and back to see if that makes the gathers sit closer to your body? It just looks a bit full? This dress, like all your others will be gorgeous. You are a talent!

    Like

    1. I looked at taking out some of the excess in the shoulder seam but the weird neckline kinda got in the way. I took out the seam to try to redo it and decided that it just wasn’t going to work for me right now. I’m going to post about it over the weekend but I already redid the bodice with a different neckline. I wish I had gotten the pattern to work and I’m probably going to go back to it soon and try out again out of a better fabric, but I’m really happy with the new neckline so I feel okay about the whole thing overall πŸ™‚ thanks for the encouragement!

      Like

What do you think?

