Summer Vacation Plans

Hi everybody!

There are only a few days left of my school year, so the planning for this summer has officially begun.

*evil villain laugh*

But seriously, I have a lot of plans for what I’m going to sew this summer.

1. Finish the Steampunk Fairy

Steampunk Fairy Costume | Strings Attached

I’ve been working on this project for a little over a month now, and it’s really coming along, but it’s not going to be done before summer starts, so it goes on the list. It’s number one because I cannot let this project become part of my PhD stack (projects half done). You can see what I’ve sewn so far here.

2. Another Steampunk Fairy

Yeah, I’m so sorry if you aren’t a steampunk fan. I’m planning on making another one so that my sister and I can go in coordinated costumes to Comic Con in San Diego this summer. I went for the first time last year, had a blast, and have been wanting to go in costume ever since.

I don’t have a sketch yet, but I do know some things.

  • the color scheme is going to be centered around blue and either gold or silver
  • it will probably feature a corset similar to the one in my costume
  • it will not have the same bustle/hoops skirt mine has because that thing has been the biggest time-suck ever
  • it will be awesome and my sister will love it (or else) 🙂

3. Mistcloak from Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy

First of all, everyone should read these books. They are amazing. There aren’t words to describe how much I LOVE these books (though my sis gave it a try here).

mistborn trilogy

These are my favorite of the many covers these books have been published under, mostly because I feel like the art is the most true to the book.

mistborn-vin

Trying to summarize the premise of these books is kinda impossible, but at the most basic level, it’s basically your average fantasy world: lots of different kinds of magic and an elite group of magicians with amazing magical powers (the Mistborns, in this case). The Mistborns do their magical dealings in the middle of the night, when everyone else is hidden inside away from the swirling mists that blanket the night. They wear mistcloaks to disguise themselves in the mists. Here’s a description from the first book:

He pulled open the pack, then whipped out a dark grey cloak. Large and enveloping, the cloak wasn’t constructed from a single piece of cloth — rather, it was made up of hundreds of long, ribbonlike strips. They were sewn together at the shoulders and across the chest, but mostly they hung separate from one another, like overlapping streamers.

–Brandon Sanderson, Misborn: The Final Empire

I’ve seen a few different cosplays, out of a lot of different materials, but I’ve always imagined them as made of chiffon or silk. That’s mostly why I haven’t attempted on yet: it’s going to be pricey.

character art of Vin, the protagonist, and Sazed, her mentor (kinda) - click for image credit
character art of Vin, the protagonist, and Sazed, her mentor (kinda) – click for image credit

I love this fanart because A) Brandon Sanderson had a part in the creation of it, and B) I love the movement in the Mistcloak.

I’ve also always imagined a bit of color to the cloak, like in the cover, even though they’re always described as grey.

Gah, I love this series so much. READ THESE BOOKS! I’m going into full fangirl mood just writing this. Must take a chill pill….

4. Work on My Sketching

This one is kinda self-explanatory. I’ve never really considered myself an “artist” (on paper, at least), and I feel like that’s starting to hurt my sewing. For one, I can never get the image in my head into my sketchbook, which leaves you guys kinda out of the loop. I feel bad about that.

Also, I’ve started to consider fashion design as a possible major in college (insert obligatory freak out that college is only 2 years away) and the applications for all the programs require sketches as part of your portfolio. So, I need to crank my drawing skills up a notch.

5. More Little Things to Sell

I’ve sold thing I’ve sewn at a local farmers’ market a couple of times as part of a school-hosted event and I definitely want to do it again, which means I should have things to sell. I also have a neglected Etsy shop, which would like to no longer be neglected. Also, I’m broke and fabric costs a lot.

smocking pouch open

So I really need to sew some smaller things. Also, it’s a nice break for me when I’m working on these bigger projects.

6. Learn to Knit

Okay, so it’s not a sewing goal, per se, but it’s been on my To-Do list for like a year now. I have so many cute pins on Pinterest of things I wish I could knit. And I would love to be able to knit my own sweaters and boot cuffs and socks and stuff. Mostly sweaters. I need good sweaters for those three months a year it’s cold in Southern California (including this month — WTF weather, it’s May and I’m wearing a jacket).

I picked up crochet pretty quickly, so I’m hoping the same is true for knitting. It always annoys me when people get the two disciplines confused, but they are similar in a lot of ways, so hopefully there’s crossover in my skill level.

7. Finish My Jasmine Costume

I made the bodice for this last summer and then kinda stopped before I got around to functional pants. I have a lot of ideas as to what the pants are going to look like. I just really need to actually make them.

8. Learn to Drape Patterns

This is another thing that’s been on my To-Do list for a while. While I feel confident in manipulating commercial patterns, I don’t feel like I can create a pattern from scratch right now, and I think it’s limiting what I can do in my costuming.

I recently found a really awesome textbook/manual on pattern draping at a used bookstore and bought it, so now I can’t put it off any longer.

9. Get Better

At sewing, knitting, sketching, patterning — everything. I want to be able to look back at this summer and feel like I’ve grown. I want to see what I’ve sewn and know that I couldn’t have done it six months ago.

I need a confidence boost, basically.


So, I’ve got a lot of things on my summer to-do list, apparently. I’ll be lucky if I get through half of them 🙂

What’s your favorite? Anything you think I should add to my list?

Thanks for reading!

–Samantha  🙂


9 thoughts on “Summer Vacation Plans

What do you think?

