Comic-Con Recap, Instagram Announcement, and Steampunk Fairy Pictures

HIII everyone!!

I just had the best weekend at San Diego Comic-Con International 2015 (SDCC). The steampunk fairy costumes got worn for the first time (and were loved by all), I got to meet some really awesome people, and I generally geeked out. It was great. And now I have so much to catch you all up on.

First off… Strings Attached has an Instagram now! My username is @by_strings_attached

instagram by_strings_attached

Please follow me! It’s a little empty right now because it’s new but I’m going to start posting to it more frequently. And, because it’s a simpler medium, I’ll probably post there more frequently than here (though I’m not going to slow down posting here), so you’ll get to see more of my work on Instagram.


 

Next, Steampunk Fairy Time!

I finished my steampunk fairy costume two weeks ago and made my sister’s costume last week. Don’t worry, posts about the making of that costume are coming this week.

Steampunk Fairy Costume | Strings Attached

 

We wore our costumes to SDCC on Friday and Saturday and it was a surprisingly great experience. Last year was my first visit to SDCC, and I knew then that I wanted to go in costume. But I was worried about how people would like/react to my costumes, if they would “get” them, if anyone would be a total jerk (and crush my self-esteem), etc. I had built it up into my mind as this almost make-or-break moment for my sewing, while also trying to lower my expectations in case things went south.

look at us with that official logo
look at us with that official logo

But it was great! People really liked the costumes, and I felt good. Walking the convention floor in costume is so much more fun than it is in regular clothes: you have an automatic conversation starter with exhibitors, people just passing by ask about/compliment your costume, and you generally get to bask in the awesomeness of looking ridiculous and not being ashamed of it.

look at all the PEOPLE (and us, look at us too)
look at all the PEOPLE (and us, look at us too)

I’m working on a post now for later in the week talking more about the atmosphere of SDCC and the craziness that it is, so for now I’m going to leave you with some pictures (sorry for the awkward lighting/blurriness in some of them — we took them on our phones during the convention so it was hard to get a great pic)! (There are, of course, more coming soon.)

Doctor Who + Steampunk Fairies = my heaven
Doctor Who + Steampunk Fairies = my heaven
us posing in front of some video game display because that's what people do
us posing in front of some video game display because that’s what people do

If you saw me at Comic-Con, I’d love to hear from you (and if you followed me, that’d be great too)! And I can’t wait to hear what all of you think about my costumes! I’ll be posting about the blue fairy soon, but I can’t wait to hear your first impressions. And follow me on Instagram!

What do you think? Any questions about Comic-Con?

Thanks for reading! You guys are the best!

–Samantha 🙂


11 thoughts on “Comic-Con Recap, Instagram Announcement, and Steampunk Fairy Pictures

What do you think?

