Knitting Needle Book – A First Attempt

Hi!!!

I hope you’re having a great week! I definitely am. I’ve been hang out with friends in the last few weeks of my summer vacation (August 10 … please never come) and doing lots of sewing and, more recently, learning how to knit!

my first attempt at knitting
my first attempt at knitting

My grandmother taught me to knit last week, and, if my Pinterest feed is any indication, I am a little obsessed. I have a whole board of “Knitting Goals” — basically projects that I hope one day I will be successful enough to create. For now, I’m working on different combinations of stitches, keeping an even tension, and getting a feel for different yarn weights and textures with different needles.

So, with all these knitting goals in front of me, it seemed obvious to me that a lot of knitting supplies were in my future, mainly lots of knitting needles. And knitting needles need somewhere to live and be organized. And that sounds a hell of a lot like a sewing project to me 🙂

Knitting Needle Case | Strings Attached

Knitting Needle Case | Strings Attached

I looked at a lot of tutorials on Pinterest before I decided on making a sort of “book”. Most of the tutorials out there are for cases that roll up into a cylinder and are tied closed with ribbon. I felt like that was a bit bulky and hard to carry, so I opted instead for a flatter option.

Knitting Needle Case | Strings Attached

It also holds crochet hooks and my scissors and embroidery needles.

Knitting Needle Case | Strings Attached

I’m pretty happy with how the “book” concept turned out, though the execution kinda went downhill at the end. I’m not super pleased with my velcro work, especially since it leaves the top open for needles to fall out of.

Knitting Needle Case | Strings Attached

I also think some kind of holding strap could make it more useful and transportable. And all of this basically means that I’m going to be making another one…

Take two is going to be closed like a zippered binder (to keep needles secure), and the middle page will be slightly smaller so that it sits nicely. I’m actually pretty excited about it. I have some really cute quilting cottons I’ve been meaning to use up.

Second times the charm right?


6 thoughts on “Knitting Needle Book – A First Attempt

    1. Thanks! It’s really nice how compact it is 🙂 I don’t know if you’re interested in replacing your pouch, but I’m going to post a tutorial of the project when I make another case 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

