2015 Wrap-Up!

Happy holidays!

It’s been so long since I posted here! Thank you to all of you who haven’t given up on me in my long unofficial hiatus and to all of you who are seeing my blog for the first time! You guys are the best ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I’m back and looking back at 2015 toward to 2016!


I started 2015 out with my plaid dress for the giveaway Gertie’s blog held. Didn’t win (duh), but still love the dress and loved taking the pictures! I’ve always had a soft-spot in my heart for the 1950s, and making this dress let me embrace it!

gertie 8

gertie 5

February was all about sewing little items to sell at a local craft fair. Sometimes I like sewing these little projects that you can finish in one sitting, though most of the time I get bored halfway through and then never finish them. Whoops. But I like selling them and do like how they look when I finally finish one ๐Ÿ™‚

smocking pouch open

blue lace cosmetics bagย I also sewed skirts with my little sistersย (part two)! I had such an amazing time teaching them to sew and can’t wait to walk my older younger sister through her Christmas present (fabric and a pattern for her first pair of me-made pajamas).

little sister skirt

I made a lot of smallerย projects in March, from my lots of dots skirt to my cayenne plaid shirtย and then my personal favorite, my starry night dress. I actually succeeded in making things that are still in my everyday wardrobe that month, which is more exciting for me than it should be. I spend so much time costuming and making crazy dresses that I don’t get to wear my makes out and about very often.

Starry Night Dress | Strings Attached

Cayenne Plaid Shirt | Strings Attached

lots of dots skirt | Strings Attached

April and May were quiet months on the sewing scene, but also the birth months of my steampunk fairies ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m still amazed at how similar my final costume was to my initial sketch from way back then.

Steampunk Fairy Costume | Strings Attached

June and July were filled with steampunk fairy sewing, finishing my costume and then whipping up my sister’s in a week (not exaggerating). Debuting the fairies at San Diego Comic-Con was absolutely the best thing related to sewing that happened this entire year. The feedback was so overwhelming and positive and it made the already-awesome SDCC experience even better ๐Ÿ™‚

Steampunk Fairies at the Del

Steampunk Fairies at the Del

Steampunk Fairies at the Del

look at us with that official logo
look at us with that official logo

I also finished my blue and peach floral dress in July, another dress that has made it out into the real world multiple times. Anyone who tells you cotton voiles aren’t the best thing for a summer dress needs to sew one out of it, because, let me tell you, it was a dream.

Floral Dress | Strings Attached

August, September, October, and November were quiet months too as I figured out how to balance Junior year in high school and sewing (still figuring that out, tbh). But I did start my 1790s(ish) Charlotte Corday recreation, finish my Pink Lolita Dress, and make serious progress on my 1780s stays.

Charlotte Corday final sketch

wpid-20150829_153250.jpg

Pink Lolita Dress

18th century stays | Strings Attached

I’ve been working at lot on Charlotte Corday recently but without much to show for it. Finding fabric, finalizing the stays, and making a mock-up of the bodice have all been on hold until I finish making a custom dress form for myself (more info coming soon because right now it’s too creepy looking to share with you all) that is corset-friendly.


I’m so excited for 2016 and have so many great plans. For Christmas, my mom bought me tickets to Costume College in July (AHHHHH!!!!!!), so now I’m planning all my outfits for that furiously. Looking back at this year is making me realize I really need to step up my sewing-game if I’m going to even remotely finish my planned outfits.

For now, thanks to everyone who got to the bottom of this insanely long post! Please check out all the links to the projects that looked interesting, and tell me all about your reaction in the comments! I love hearing from all of you ๐Ÿ˜€

Please like, follow, and comment here on my blog and on Instagram (@by_strings_attached) to hear about all my sewing adventures!

Thanks for reading! Happy Holidays and New Year!

Samantha


10 thoughts on “2015 Wrap-Up!

What do you think?

